Page 1 sur 1

Alternate axis names

Posté : dim. déc. 02, 2018 7:09 pm
par EtiennePhillips
Hi

I'm new to JediCut, so I'm sure I'll have a couple of questions as time goes on, however firstly: thanks for an awesome program, I'm very impressed with how easy it is to use and that it's free!

I'm using a Beckhoff controlled 4-axis foam cutter (build is still in progress), and the Beckhoff NCi g-code interpreter has set names for the axes. The main ones are fine: X, Y and Z, however the auxiliary axes are handled a bit differently to what JediCut expects, using the notation Q1=, Q2=...

An example of a manually created G-Code file that works on the Beckhoff system:

Code : Tout sélectionner

( Set wire heat using PWM spindle speed [Value relative in %]  )
S100
( Move max speed  )
F1200
G1 X0 Y50 Q1=0 Q2=50
( Pause [millisec]  )
G4 X2
( Move cut speed  )
F1200
G1 X0 Y0 Q1=10 Q2=0
G1 X10 Y0 Q1=10 Q2=0
( Move cut speed  )
G1 X0.29 Y0.4 Q1=0.1628 Q2=0.248
G1 X0.88 Y0.88 Q1=0.5032 Q2=0.5524
G1 X1.45 Y0.78 Q1=0.8479 Q2=0.5083
Since JediCut supports custom axis names, I can almost get it to produce this format, however the axes names are limited to a length of 1 character. Would it be possible to increase this to 3 characters?

Thanks
Etienne

Re: Alternate axis names

Posté : dim. déc. 23, 2018 9:11 am
par Jerome
Hello EtiennePhillips and welcome !

I will add this feature in the next Jedicut release planned in few weeks I hope :)-D If you can't wait, I can give you a Jedicut beta version with this improvement.

Re: Alternate axis names

Posté : mar. janv. 01, 2019 8:06 pm
par Jerome
Hello,

I published a beta version here. I added this improvement ::bye::
viewtopic.php?f=5&p=12415&t=10899&sid=9 ... 61492d0fd8

Re: Alternate axis names

Posté : sam. janv. 12, 2019 6:41 pm
par EtiennePhillips
Hi Jerome

Thank you so much for making the change! I've tested the new release and was able to set the X2 and Y2 axis names exactly as I need to, so it looks very promising!

However, I've encountered another problem that appears to be new with this new release: the feedrates for cut and fast movements don't seem to match what I've set in the G-Code ini file. The Fast feedrate is being set correctly, but the cut speed is set to 100 but comes through as F0, then a few lines later correctly as F100 (but with a misplaced comment).


ini file:

Code : Tout sélectionner

[PlugIn-GCode]
Directory=D:\My Documents\Personal\CNC\Jedicut 2409\
LengthUnits=mm
DecimalSeparator=.
ConstantVelocityCut=1
X1_Name=X
Y1_Name=Y
X2_Name=Q1=
Y2_Name=Q2=
IncludeComments=1
CommentStart=(
CommentEnd=)
CuttingSpeed=100
FastSpeed=1000
TimeUnit=ms

G-Code file:

Code : Tout sélectionner

( Plan XY )
G17
( SET LENGTH UNITS )
G21
( SET DISTANCE MODE )
G91
( SET CUTTER COMPENSATION )
G40
( SET TOOL LENGTH OFFSET )
G49
( SET PATH CONTROL MODE )
G64
( SET FEED RATE MODE )
G94

( Move max speed )
F1000
G1 X0 Y50 Q1=0 Q2=50
( Pause [millisec] )
G4 P2000
( Move cut speed )
F0
G1 X0 Y0 Q1=20 Q2=0
F100
G1 X10 Y0 Q1=10 Q2=0
( Move cut speed )
G1 X0.2687 Y0.4146 Q1=0.122 Q2=0.0361
G1 X0.8327 Y0.9248 Q1=0.3178 Q2=0.0415
G1 X1.4072 Y0.8548 Q1=0.4184 Q2=-0.0685
G1 X1.9533 Y0.9435 Q1=0.5401 Q2=-0.1426
G1 X2.4926 Y0.9718 Q1=0.6503 Q2=-0.2273

Thanks again for the quick response, I look forward to my first cut!
Etienne

Re: Alternate axis names

Posté : dim. janv. 13, 2019 8:34 am
par Jerome
Hello,

I can't reproduice this error.

How do you generate this file ? If you use a cutting file, can you post it ? And can you post your Jedicut_Default.ini file (or the file which corresponding to your table) ?

Re: Alternate axis names

Posté : dim. janv. 13, 2019 4:15 pm
par EtiennePhillips
Hi Jerome

Again, thankyou for the help!

I have the latest version of Jedicut fully installed. I then downloaded the version you suggested above, unzipped it and ran it straight from the extracted folder (I didn't uninstall the existing version). I'm not sure if that has anything to do with it?

I also made a bit of a mistake in my last post: the fast speed works perfectly, the problem just seems to be with the cut speed.

Here's the default INI file, as well as the profile.

Thanks
Etienne

Re: Alternate axis names

Posté : ven. janv. 25, 2019 9:33 am
par Jerome
Hello,

I don't understand, I'm sorry. Is everything ok with the last Jedicut release ?

Re: Alternate axis names

Posté : dim. févr. 03, 2019 5:52 pm
par EtiennePhillips
Hi Jerome

Apologies the delayed reply (I had a hard drive issue, so it's taken a little while to get back up and running). I've just tested the latest release and it looks like it's all working perfectly!

Thanks
Etienne